Arduino is an open source project supported by many.

The Team is composed of Massimo Banzi, David Cuartielles, Tom Igoe, Gianluca Martino, and David Mellis.

Nicholas Zambetti has contributed since the beginning.

Yaniv Steiner and Giorgio Olivero have been supporting the project and are working at using it with the Instant Soup platform.

The Arduino platform used to include the avr-gcc tool chain, uisp, and the Procyon AVR-LIB by Pascal Stang.

The Arduino language syntax is based on Wiring by Hernando Barragan

The Arduino environment is based on Processing by Ben Fry and Casey Reas.

Thanks to all the people who are supporting arduino (Note July 2008 - This list needs to be updated, it's from 2005)



  • Matthias Rohrbach


  • Michael Coburn


  • Beltran Berrocal


  • Cristina Hoffmann
  • Jean-Baptiste Labrune
  • Maurin Donneaud
  • Vincent Roudaut

New York

  • Jeff Gray
  • Heather Dewey-Hagborg
  • Clay Shirky